Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hard Drive Difficulties...
gothictheysay
post Jul 27 2005, 01:00 AM
Post #1

living in your basement, eating your candy hearts

Group: Established Members
Member No.: 959

All right, bear with me, I'm no computer expert. Last time our old computer bit the dust, we managed to get the hard drive on a "mass storage device" which connects by USB an a power cord to the power strip. It has been a good little device except for now... when I try to access it to open any file (I select it on the dropdown menu), it says that the file system is not recognizable and that it isn't formatted. Formatting it would erase everything on it... but it was formatted before this, I assume, because it worked just the other day. My only clue was that I was restarting the computer the other day and something I had never seen before popped up and said it had to check the drive or something. OK, I let it do that, takes half an hour. I don't remember if I accessed it with success since then.

Things I have done that did not solve the problem and were probably not going to but I have never encountered this problem before:

1. Restart computer
2. Try plugging it into another computer
3. Unplug/replug

No idea what to do next. Also, it is really hot(literally). It's been really hot and worked before, but something tells me that's not right anyhow. Shutting it off seems to cool it down, which I've done now. Well, if anyone has any idea, I'd love the help =\

--------------------
Being corrupted by candice since 2004
teal and orange is the way forward
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
DarkInferno
post Jul 28 2005, 11:51 AM
Post #2

Serpents hide behind your eyes

Member No.: 346

Your MBR may be fudged,

You can run chkdsk, but it isn't the greatest.

You could also try popping the drive out of the external housing and mounting it inside a pc.

Do you have another drive of a suitable drive to take the contents off that disk when you manage to access it?