IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Rules 

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rules!, Yes or no?
Do you think humans are innate rule followers or rulebreakers?
You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Total Votes: 24
Guests cannot vote 
eleraama
post Sep 6 2005, 11:20 PM
Post #1

There is glass between us...!

Group: Established Members
Member No.: 1,091

I work as a receptionist, and it really interests me to watch how some people think that they have to follow 'the rules' (specifically by signing in), even if I tell them not to worry about it.

I am personally of the opinion that it really depends on the person, and I'm betting that most of you will agree.

For example, I have a friend who freaks out in rule-bending or breaking situations, whle others could care less.

I think that the majority of people follow them for convenience's sake.

Thoughts?

--------------------
"Hell is... other people." No Exit by Jean-Paul Sartre.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
uninspired pizza...
post Sep 7 2005, 12:53 AM
Post #2

Oh really?

Member No.: 1,837

It depends on what sort of rules, some people bypass them for convenience (e.g. Dont run with sissors, even if you are late!), others may break rules for fun (e.g. dont photocopy your face!). As long as im not doing something dangerous or risky like speeding or stealing, i'll happily bend the rules in my favour.

--------------------
the noob of noone/e-knighted by jimi/now im typing in orange/

+Quote Post
little_bear
post Sep 7 2005, 05:08 AM
Post #3

I could have written a short novel by this point

Group: Banned
Member No.: 1,378

Obedience very much stems from personality type. There are certain personality traits which are consistent with high levels of obedience. Such people are often heavily patriotic and also like to command over those below them. This much psychology has taught me.