> My Honours Project, looking for occasional feedback/suggestions
Tarantio
post Oct 28 2010, 05:31 PM
Post #1

NyanNyanNyan

Group: Established Members
Member No.: 191

Hey folks!

As some of you know, I'm finally doing my honours year at Uni, where I'm studying Computer Games Technology (final year, where we get our degree grade), and a large part of the year (half our credits, hence half our final grade) is the honours project and dissertation. I know quite a few of you folks on the board are gamers to some degree, others writers, and all of you are intelligent, so I thought I'd post up a quick blurb about what I've chosen as my research question, as well as a link to my blog, in the hopes that those of you interested might give it a read and, preferably, give me some feedback every now and then. Also, if anyone knows of relevant research material, suggestions are more than welcome; I need to get reading and taking notes ASAP.

So, my research question:

"Can existing story writing techniques be adapted for use by an A.I. to generate plots for story-driven games? is what it says on my blog; this is an early draft of the question, though.

Over the next six months or so I'll be researching and experimenting the topic, with the aim of creating a set of tools to build simple, structured plots, as well as a procedural AI to do the building; at this stage, my primary focus is the toolset, with the AI experiments being used to prove their success.

I'm keeping a blog here. It's fairly small at the moment, but we're still in the stage of setting and presenting our research questions just now, so there'll be more on a regular basis.

I appreciate any time you all take to have a look at least, and anyone with comments or suggestions gets a free hug at the project's (hopefully successful) conclusion.

Cheers everyone!

--------------------
When, will I, will I be famous?

I CAN'T ANSWER THAT, I CAN'T ANSWER THAT.

-Tara and DACE sing is available from DACETRON ltd.