IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Should I Try Windows 2003 Server?, My box needs a clearout.
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 17 2003, 12:43 PM
Post #1


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



Right. My drives are a complete mess, and the start menu is an abomination. Probably because I've not done a clean installation in a bit over four years.

I've decided to clear the whole thing out and swap my drives around, but the question I have is this:

Should I use 2003 server. I'd quite like to take proper control of my home nework rather than carrying on with the lobotomised "workgroup" malarky, but I'm not overly well up on the pro's and con's of 2003. Anybody going to shudder and warn me off before I try it out later?


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WeeJ
post Sep 17 2003, 12:45 PM
Post #2


Engrish Ranguage Student
************

Group: Established Members
Posts: 3,363
Joined: 27-May 03
From: Tamworth
Member No.: 338
Gender: Female



Ask Mat (Drarok)
He runs a server. Not sure what version though.


--------------------
Go Go Gadget WeeJ!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mingtea
post Sep 17 2003, 12:49 PM
Post #3


Lanky Mofo
*********

Group: New Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 403



Well is this for your home workstation or a seperate server? (I'd never recomend a server O/S for your workstation)

Also what is it your trying to do with your network, exactly?

2003 is a cute O/S with some very nice web based administration tools (even the event log can be viewed over the web) and you also have the worlds greatest invention, terminal services.

I guess if you really needed a windows server, i'd say go with 2003, but do you need a server?


--------------------
CODE
</geek>

MultiplayUK - Great LAN parties, attend today :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 17 2003, 01:02 PM
Post #4


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



It would be on my main machine for the time being, but I'll be using the server functions in a fairly limited manner to start off. Mainly I want to have a proper domain setup because basic file and printer sharing just doesn't cut it a fair amount of the time. Also one of the machines I use quite often requires me to get past a truly horrible thing - a surly sister, and the increased functionality would aid me in doing things without having to get close enough to lose limbs! Since this box is left on 24/7 I may as well get it working harder...

Also, it would be fairly handy for me to become familiar with it. Much the same reason as why I made up a Linux box fairly recently - I want a decent level of familiarity.


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mingtea
post Sep 17 2003, 01:46 PM
Post #5


Lanky Mofo
*********

Group: New Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 403



Well... try it, but my rule of thumb server stuff for your workstation = no no.


--------------------
CODE
</geek>

MultiplayUK - Great LAN parties, attend today :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 17 2003, 01:49 PM
Post #6


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



Fair enough. I'll try it for a week or so, and see how it pans out.


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
leopold
post Sep 20 2003, 04:03 PM
Post #7


Absentee Mod
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 8,691
Joined: 4-March 03
From: On the face of the planet, somewhere north of Guildford
Member No.: 95
Gender: Male



I'm running it on my server here... it's not too bad but it's a bit overkill for a home network...


--------------------
Insert humorous comment here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 23 2003, 05:01 PM
Post #8


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



Everybody say bye-bye to my main box. I'm just about to format and start again with it (using XP. I've put 2003 on my secondary machine instead) and will be offline for IM's for an hour or two.


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 23 2003, 06:54 PM
Post #9


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



Now I've got to the point of installing all the windoze updates. I may grow old and die.

Damn it. It's lost my 60 gig drive!

This post has been edited by Mr Fuzzy: Sep 23 2003, 06:59 PM


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 23 2003, 08:07 PM
Post #10


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



Gah. Previos versions of Windoze may have been less stable, but I have to download over 100MB of updates to plug the massive security holes. I wouldn't mind so much, but it takes me longer to install them than downloading does.


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mingtea
post Sep 23 2003, 08:11 PM
Post #11


Lanky Mofo
*********

Group: New Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 403



100mb? always keep a copy of SP1 network install handy... usualy takes 2/3rds from that.


--------------------
CODE
</geek>

MultiplayUK - Great LAN parties, attend today :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 23 2003, 08:20 PM
Post #12


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



Oh, I've got a SP1 cd here. It just needs even more updates than that holds to plug the obvious holes. By the way, I took your advice and put 2003 on the extra box instead.


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mingtea
post Sep 23 2003, 08:23 PM
Post #13


Lanky Mofo
*********

Group: New Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 20-June 03
Member No.: 403



Cool tell me what you find with it, i've only read the blurb on it.

100mb after SP1 seems so odd.. mind you have i have auto update do it all for me so i've probably never noticed the newer ones.


--------------------
CODE
</geek>

MultiplayUK - Great LAN parties, attend today :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr Fuzzy
post Sep 23 2003, 08:38 PM
Post #14


This space intentionally left blank
************

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,368
Joined: 30-March 03
From: Venta Belgarum
Member No.: 203
Gender: Male



It's quite sweet to be honest. I've never set up a server so easily. Of course, Apache, PHP and MYSQL are completely separate and integrating them properly can be a bit chewy...

The auto update thing hides exactly how much XP has changed so far. My current count for downloads after an XP SP1 CD install has now gone over 120MB and 4 reboos. Grah!


--------------------
We are at war with Eastasia. We have always been at war with Eastasia. We were never at war with Eurasia. Eurasia is our ally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 04:40 PM
Use these links if you're going to shop at Amazon and a percentage of what you spend goes towards helping this site!