Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Interview, To tell or not to tell?
Pixelgoth
post May 14 2004, 11:36 AM
Post #1

Flaps and spins on the spot

Group: Established Members
Member No.: 390

Right peeps I need opinions and lots of them. I have a problem to solve. I have been working at Greenleaf for 5 years and although I like my job it really isn't what I'm passionate about which is history, museums, heritage, etc. I recently applied for a job at a museum and have been offered an interview. I don't have a date yet as they have said that their funding is delayed and as such the next stage (interviews) is delayed until June.

Now do I...

1. Tell work now?
2. Wait until I have a date and tell them?
3. Not tell them, go for the interview and only say anything if I get the job?

Bear in mind that Greenleaf is a tiny firm (4 people strong) and if I go it really puts a spanner in the works as no one else knows how to do my job! ohmy.gif Obviously they'd find someone else but it might take slightly longer than some large corporation might. Plus I feel there is some loyalty there and it would be better to give them a 'heads up' and tell them I had an interview rather than drop the bomb that I'm leaving in 4 weeks and there ain't nothin' they can do! biggrin.gif

A friend said that I don't owe them squat really and they wouldn't give me a heads up if I was being made redundant. Having said that I'd probably know about it long before as I organise the finances rolleyes.gif He also made the point that if I tell them I have an interview and don't get it then they are going to be nervous about me leaving and think I'm at an interview everytime I'm off sick or on holiday. Kinda destroys trust?

So what do you think? smile.gif :

--------------------
Hope confidentally, do valiantly, wait patiently!
Rather light a candle than complain about the dark!
Enjoy what you have and hope for what you lack
Thoughts become things, choose the good ones[/center]
[center]Carpe diem