Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: L337
The Other Side forums - suitable for mature readers! > The Other Side forums > Tips and tricks
Asenyth
What exactly is this l33t thing? I've heard of it for years, I just don't understand. I figured one of the tech-ish people on this forum might know what it is and could explain or maybe send me to a l337 translator? Yeah, I obviously have no idea, please help.
Aria
1337 speak is where you replace letters with numbers, on a very basic level.
For example, you=j00
hacker=4ac|<er

I'm not very good with l337, though. If you want an example of leet speak, look up JeffK on SomethingAwful, it's pretty awful stuff.
Asenyth
Do the same numbers always mean the same letter?
Aria
Most of the time, afaik. Like I said, I'm not very good with it, but I think there are a few numbers that have different letters they can represent.
little_bear
I think its also an 'attitude'. Basically, it just allows people online to be total t****rs.
Usurper MrTeapot
QUOTE (Aria @ Jan 6 2005, 01:10 AM)
hacker=4ac|<er

That spells Aacker

4 - A
3 - E
8 - B
7 - T
O - O

|< - K, |\/| - M, |\| - N etc

If you get really complicated then = is 3, % is y and some other complicated ones I can't remember.

I'm not sure if its true but it was supposedly used by early hackers so that their illegal websites wouldn't be found if you searched in a search engine.
Aria
QUOTE (MrTeapot @ Jan 6 2005, 04:25 PM)
QUOTE (Aria @ Jan 6 2005, 01:10 AM)
hacker=4ac|<er

That spells Aacker

4 - A
3 - E
8 - B
7 - T
O - O

|< - K, |\/| - M, |\| - N etc

If you get really complicated then = is 3, % is y and some other complicated ones I can't remember.

I'm not sure if its true but it was supposedly used by early hackers so that their illegal websites wouldn't be found if you searched in a search engine.