Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mp3 Players
The Other Side forums - suitable for mature readers! > The Other Side forums > Tips and tricks
Mata
I don't have the money for a MP3 player at the moment, and I need to buy a decent removable storage device before I get one (because my zip drive has once again given up the ghost), but I'm finding that it would be increasingly handy to have one for things like audio book versions of texts I'm studying.

So, what would people recommend?

Currently top of my list is the Creative Zen series, 30 or 40GB:

http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?CRE-ZEN40

But I quite like the idea of having radio and voice recording functions too:

http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?CRE-ZENB

I know that past 10GB is just silly, but I'm probably not going to buy another one for a long time, so I might as well get one that has enough space for clutter to not be a problem.

Bear in mind that I'm not too convinced about the idea of spending extra money just to support a clever marketing campaign and have a pointless lowercase 'i' in front of the name.

Also, I'm probably going to import one from the US, because the dollar prices are about half of their UK equivalents.
CommieBastard
Having used both the iPod and the Creative Zen Touch, I'd recommend the iPod, personally - though admittedly not by a huge margin.
Hobbes
QUOTE (CommieBastard @ Mar 17 2005, 03:15 PM)
Having used both the iPod and the Creative Zen Touch, I'd recommend the iPod, personally - though admittedly not by a huge margin.

Your reasons?

I only ask because I've put off buying an mp3 player for years, even though I've desperately wanted one. A few years have passed, and now I see the iPod and its rivals. And I want! But it's a lorra' money!

So, why do you favour the iPod?
CommieBastard
QUOTE (Hobbes @ Mar 17 2005, 08:04 PM)
Your reasons?