IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Computer question, the internet!
gothictheysay
post Jan 28 2013, 09:44 PM
Post #1


living in your basement, eating your candy hearts
************

Group: Established Members
Posts: 3,426
Joined: 23-February 04
From: cloud cuckoo land
Member No.: 959
Gender: Female



I have an old laptop, recently purchased used for less than the price of a new motherboard for my old computer. It works pretty well, but I'm having a weird problem with the internet. Every few hours it won't work - it still says it's connected, but nothing loads - and the "troubleshoot" thing tells me something about microsoft.com not being able to respond each time. I've found that restarting the computer works, but I'm worried that this might develop into something more, and I'm sick of restarting two or three times a day. Anyone know what it could be?
Thanks!


--------------------
Being corrupted by candice since 2004
teal and orange is the way forward
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gothictheysay
post Jan 29 2013, 02:15 AM
Post #2


living in your basement, eating your candy hearts
************

Group: Established Members
Posts: 3,426
Joined: 23-February 04
From: cloud cuckoo land
Member No.: 959
Gender: Female



I've since downloaded a newer driver for my wireless card, but if you have any other ideas, don't hesitate to post. I'll see how it works.


--------------------
Being corrupted by candice since 2004
teal and orange is the way forward
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vicrawr
post Jan 29 2013, 11:41 PM
Post #3



************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,767
Joined: 9-June 03
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 374
Gender: Male



It's possible the card could be failing, since the machine is old and used. If it's a common computer, it shouldn't be hard to find a replacement component online. But, there's the trouble of replacing it. Another option is a USB wireless adapter. If you've got a friend who has one, you could borrow it and disable the onboard card and see what happens with that.

Also, could it be the router or modem instead of the computer?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mata
post Feb 6 2013, 09:55 PM
Post #4


'Trouble Down Pit' now online!
***************

Group: Admin
Posts: 10,205
Joined: 22-February 03
From: Southern UK
Member No.: 1
Gender: Male



Urgh. I hate those patchy errors. Good luck tracing it!


--------------------
Trouble Down Pit: Still updated every Monday and Friday
The Matazone Games blog
The Matazone Shop The Matazone Blog
The Matazone Corset Shop: Snobz corsets at 10% off their recommended price!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BigMistake
post Feb 19 2013, 08:44 PM
Post #5


Obsessive
******

Group: Established Members
Posts: 240
Joined: 21-September 11
Member No.: 17,519
Gender: Male



You might want to check if it's just THAT laptop or not. It sounds like it could be a DNS problem, in which case it could be as simple as Start > Run > cmd > ipconfig /flushdns .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 04:43 PM
Use these links if you're going to shop at Amazon and a percentage of what you spend goes towards helping this site!